Bumps along the Road

21 Nov

Yesterday was a blast! Since moving in our new home, we really haven’t had much cash to shop for non-essentials as we put a lot of money into installing the floors, and buying things to cover up the mistakes we made installing the floors πŸ™‚

We decided we had some money to burn and went out shopping at the most AWESOME new shopping center near our home. The place has everything you can ask for, and some places we’ve never heard of. We hit up all the big box department stores and discovered our taste for throwing away cash has greatly dissipated. It went something like this

“LOVE this sweater!! Oh wait…it’s $108..BUT it’s 50% off! And we have the extra 15% off coupon…still not a good enough deal..”

“I mean I need a sweater, so this one is nice enough. Half off of $49.98. $25 isn’t that bad right…we’ll I don’t like it that much!”

Where or where did our bad sense go? I guess things shift and responsibilities start to override our somewhat irrational buying habits we had before. We were bummed and had gone to three stores and not purchased a thing! We ended up going to another big box discount department store. The place has home, clothing, shoes, and other random doo-dads for those impulsive buyers out there.

And that’s when we saw it. The mirror I’ve been wanting to purchase so bad, but they usually run about $300. It wasn’t the exact one, but it was soo nice and it was real wood! The packaging around the frame said it was $99, but this being the store it was, I knew that wasn’t the true price. Plus the packaging was branded from another retail store. We went up to the register and told the girl there wasn’t a tag, she bit her lip, bunched up her brows and then proceeded to search her notebook of SKU’s. Then she said it “Well, I have a barcode here for a mirror that says $29.99, you guys want it?”

Umm, yes!! Yay! We were so excited!! Finally the style of mirror I’ve been wanting and for that price?? That seemed to jumpstart our buying spirits. The deal we so good we sort of felt like we were stealing! We went off and loaded the mirror in the car, then went back into the store to get some more stuff. We came out with three sweaters, serving sliverware, a tie, a tie rack, a toilet tissue holder, and a bath mat!

…so I’ve gone off on so much of a tangent, I forgot what this post was really about! The bump in the road! πŸ™‚ So we went out and had some really bad bar food along with about 46 ounces of Orange Crush, I had some jalepeno poppers, fried cash fish, fried shrimp, and french fries :/

But look at our beautiful new mirror!! πŸ™‚

What a Deal!

2 Responses to “Bumps along the Road”

  1. thegracefulskinny November 22, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I would like to throw a caution out to you as we enter the Christmas season. I have noticed at least with myself, that there is a link between bad food choices and self gratifying shopping. Maybe its because we are opening that door to the piece of our Brain that has always been the more selfish side.

    Whatever it is, when I am out shopping cause I want to and I feel I just want something just cause I find that I tend to lean towards the bad food choices.

    Just a heads up.

    Congrats on the great deal though!

  2. Public Fat November 22, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    It was such a forced shopping trip, and when we couldn’t find anything we wanted buy, to fill time we did stop by the restaurant. I think just being out and wandering around those shops are just packed right in the middle of everything you just walk right into them!

    I don’t regret the mirror though! We’ll see how I feel about those poppers come tomorrow’s measure! 😦

    On that note, off to the gym I go!!

Leave a comment