Selection of the Bridal Slaves

20 Dec

So I’m feeling good about working out and eating right again! 🙂 I’ve done okay this week and stayed on track with my working out, so there will be a post tomorrow! I won’t deny a post again. It’s wrong and this blog is about the ups and downs and not just the ups.

But yesterday I had so much fun with my new bridal party! I had tons of fruit and some chicken wings (which I only had two wings and lots of fruit!). I invited some friends over and watched some trash TV. (VH1 Sunday nights, need I say more?) And they were bombarding me with wedding planning questions and especially about my dress! I let them down that I can’t show them my gown just yet, but they’re pretty confident that I can’t hold water, so they just know I’m going to seep before the year is out! …I’m going to try my hardest not to..but I can’t promise anything!

Since my colors are dark blue, black and white I went out and tried to find cute little dark blue trinkets for the girls. I got that done in one trip to Bath & Body Works. I also found these cute little bottles of Moscato Asti that were just perfect!! I laid out the gifts on my bar, so I’m sure that sparked their curiosity the whole time! It was a long road for me to decide to have a bridal party, but at this point, I’m excited I did! It’s making the whole wedding experience more real and lots of fun. I still don’t want to lose track of the day being about me and my honey, but it’s even better when it’s shared with family and friends who support our relationship.

Take a look at the spread! Public, did you have a bridal party? Why or why not?

4 Responses to “Selection of the Bridal Slaves”

  1. determined2fly December 21, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    I’ve been a part of several bridal parties, and it has usually been an invitation of my closest friends (once my mother’s remarriage) and a frantic phone call after their engagement. I really like that you started it off on a good note with your friends. It would have been nice to have been appreciated like that for the weddings I’ve been in. I’m not sure how I’ll do it once the time for me comes around…I’d personally rather elope, but I think I would take my 2 best friends and my boy’s sister and make it a sealed deal. No hurt feelings if you limit the group size. 🙂

    • Public Fat December 21, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

      Thanks! I’m hoping my girls appreciated that one token of niceness before the storm! 🙂 I have 4 bridesmaids, one is my cousin and the other 3 are really good friends. We are in the process of picking bridesmaid dresses so here goes nothing!

  2. milieus December 28, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    I am also having 4. My sister is my MOH. My bridesmaids are my fiance’s sister and two really good friends. I never questioned having a bridal party; I know I’m going to need them. So far, they have been really helpful and supportive. They’re the ones that keep reminding me that it’s my big day and no one else’s. I will probably be blogging about them soon.

    • Public Fat December 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

      Yes, I have to say since I’ve invited them in the wedding it has become more “real”. What are some of the things you ask them to do?? I’m not even sure how I’m supposed to be “using” them. So far, I just have them sending me bridesmaid dress suggestions.

Leave a comment