Today, I got anxious

15 Feb

Not because of the stress of the wedding, or the fact I don’t have a direct supervisor anymore and tons of work projects are in limbo, I got anxious when I saw the 5-day forecast. High 70s all week. Public, it’s starting to warm up around these parts.

Yes, it’s an awesome time given the storm we endured last week but it’s also a reminder that boots and heavy jackets will get packed up for another 7 or so months, and the tanks and shorts will arise again.

Ah, there has been a change in my mood lately and it’s noticeable to those close around me. The reality of the wedding being 8 months away, and getting sized in less than a month is really starting to hit home. YES! I said this journey isn’t about an event or a dress BUT darn it, I’m starting to feel the pressure!! (This is the part where someone hands me a paper bag and tells me to “Just breathe”!)

Besides NOT working out for the last few days, I guess my strategy is going to be to pout and stress the weight off as I’m not really asserting any other alternatives here people!!!

Woo sah! πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “Today, I got anxious”

  1. skinnyshae February 16, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Breathing doesn’t help. Believe me. I was breathing all through my wedding planning, and I was still crazy.

    What does help is one day where you don’t do anything “wedding-related,” but think most about who you’re marrying and who you’ll have close to you on that day (parents, siblings, besties, etc.).

    Planning a wedding is stressful. I know, I’ve been there. Some days it was too much so I’d put it to the side and spend some quality time with Husband or my girls, just relaxing and avoiding that stress.

    Whatever you do, don’t go for a quiet walk to collect your thoughts. That won’t help stress. If you really want to beat cortisol to the ground, get on a rowing machine and work as hard as you possibly can or go to a Zumba class. Heavy, intense exercise really is the answer for stress (and I hate that, too).

    Good luck! I wish you well, and remember, dresses are made to fit our curves, not the other way around. πŸ˜‰

  2. thegracefulskinny February 16, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    I am afraid to inform you that stressing will only put weight on and make you sick it can only insure the opposite of every goal you are trying to reach. Just take a deep breath and know that no matter what everything will work out in the end and have piece in that. Don’t allow yourself to go crazy about things that are not your control.

    Just enjoy your break from the nasty weather and use it as an excuse to get outside and be active.

  3. xrebx February 16, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Skinnyshae you have some good points there. Exercising i find can help my stress. I do Taekwon-Do and i reall really wanted to punch somebody or something last week, so i just hit some pads really hard instead. My arms felt it the day after and it exhausted me from my street i had. I felt a lot better afterwards :). I hope things are going alright wedding planning wise! Try not to fret so much, stress can cause sooo many rubbish things. Maybe too find something that will help you chill and relax that you will like doing too for a bit each day? keep on going!xx

  4. pawsitivelife February 17, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Don’t stress out. Im always suprised that I get my best results when I do not stress out over my meals and have some cheat days….or weeks. Although excericse is a great stress reliever you should not be stressed out if you are not working out. Viscous cycle

  5. Public Fat March 1, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Judging from this week’s results the stressing did NOT help. I’m just trying to breathe and not let it get to me. It’s a journey, it’s a journey (chants mindlessly)

Leave a Reply

