Getting 5k fit

6 Jan

Yes, that’s right. I’m running a 5k. This month. Or shall I say, “participating in” a 5k. I really can’t commit to running the whole thing at this point. I used to be a serious runner in college. It was the only way I worked out. I’d go to the gym, maybe do the elliptical, and always run the indoor track upstairs, followed by some weights. Never have I ever liked the treadmill. Too constrained. I love to be free. Plus, I’m ADD, so running in place for 30 minutes just isn’t going to happen.

But today I really needed motivation. So I had my hubby to be drive, and keep driving. Then I told him, “okay, stop”. I got out the car, and the only way to get back home was to run! I actually ran 85% of the way back home, so I’m convinced that maybe I won’t do so bad. Oh, did I mention the 5k is in less than 4 weeks? Yes, it’s January 23rd. I verbally committed to this a while ago, but I haven’t been particularly training for it. I’ve worked out doing cardio, but no long distance running.

I’m pretty amped to participate, as I haven’t done one of these since college. Maybe I’ll get my running fever back and it’s all weight shedding from there! I stopped running though almost all because I just can’t manage to lift this heavier frame off the ground even it’s merely balancing on one foot for about just as fast as I can put the other down, but because knee problems run in my family. My mom has extreme knee pain, and so do her siblings. She was a runner when she was younger, but dropped off the exercise scene, almost entirely for about three decades. Now she has resorted to sleeve surgery to help her weight loss, in hopes the loss will relieve the pain in her knees.

The other day we were swapping weight loss stats, and since November (the month she had the surgery, and when I started my workout routine) she has lost 52 lbs. Me…maybe 8. Her first day of exercising was yesterday. Mine, nearly three months ago. Huge difference = food portions and diet. I know better than to think weight loss surgery is the easy way out, as you have to train yourself for about a year, and then for years after practice extreme food portion control. I could never do that. I love food way too much. That’s my issue. And although I’ve seen some loss since I’ve increased my exercise, as long as I maintain my food intake, I know I won’t see the results I want to see.

But I’m trying to make a lifestyle change here. Food controls me. There, I said it! I can’t give it up!! I’ve done better. But I know this is going to be a struggle and take time until I make the conscience effort to truly make a diet change. Sadly, that day is not today.

Ah, pray for me Public!

2 Responses to “Getting 5k fit”

  1. thegracefulskinny January 7, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    knowing that is a big step in getting over it. Good luck with your race. I know I couldn’t do it! But then, I’ve never really been much of a runner.

    • Public Fat January 9, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      I’m sure I’ll be walking the majority! lol Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

