I Said YES!!!

12 Dec

So yesterday was the big day. I tried on some wedding gowns! I have to say, the experience wasn’t as horrific as I would’ve imagined it! I went in knowing the gown I wanted to try on. I selected four other gowns to try on (even though they didn’t stand a chance) and saved my #1 choice, for last. I was able to successfully step into most of the gowns, but those with a shorter zipper, I had to pull over my head because of my wide hips.

The first few gowns were so-so, but I have to say I completely adore silk taffeta. It is such a classy and luxurious fabric! I’m only 5’5″, so the one shoulder gown was too much for my short frame and kind of overtook me. The best gowns were the sleeveless. When we first walked in the salon my dress to be was on the mannequin, and it was instant love šŸ™‚

My mother, father, and little brother (14 years) came along. We were greeted by a very nice and fun consultant (thank goodness!) and started to look through their selections. At this point, my dad and brother left! I think they drove around and found a Target or something : / Fast forward to my dress: All I can say is that it is the Justin Alexander gown I’ve been eyeing online for a few weeks now. My brother and dad reemerged just in time to see me in the gown and to give their thumbs up. We even chose a veil, so that’s another thing crossed off the list. I can’t believe I have 11 more months to dream about that dress every night until I can actually wear it!!

The best thing about the gown is I look and feel great in it NOW! If I lost a few pounds I would look even more amazing, but it was important to find something I am completely comfortable and confident in now, just worse case scenario. The dress is perfect, fun and gives me an incredible waist!! There are pearls and bling in the right places! Ah, I’m in love again!! : ) I haven’t ordered the gown just yet, but I scheduled an appointment for March 5th of next year so that I can order the gown in whatever size I am then. I started off by telling the consultant “You may or may not have heard this before, but can I not order the size yet??” Then we shared a laugh over how rich she would be if she got a dollar for every bride who did the same thing!!

Of course I can’t post pics of the gown just yet, but stay tuned Public! I will host my unveil shortly! : ) Of course, if you want to take a stab at which one it is, just post the link in a comment below. I’m in the holiday mood and just may send an eGift card to the winner! : )

4 Responses to “I Said YES!!!”

  1. Healthy Coconut December 14, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Oh how fun, I’m glad you found “The Dress”, and it’s Justin Alexander no less. Thanks for visiting my blog šŸ™‚

    Now we can drool over our dress together, lol! I’m only abut 5 months away from my final fitting, eek!

    I can’t wait to see your dress, I’ll be back to check it out.

    • Public Fat December 14, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      5 months! You’re so close!! I have almost ten : ( But you look fantastic and I can’t wait to post my photos up here soon!

      Thanks for stopping by! Many blessings on your upcoming wedding, I look forward to reading your updates!

  2. thegracefulskinny December 15, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Glad to hear that your dress experience was a good one!

    • Public Fat December 15, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

      Thank you! I was so scared to go not only because of the weight, but because of some of the nightmare-ish stories I’ve heard about other bride to be’s bridal salon experiences. Granted, I only purchased the dress. I have to go back in March to get sized, and then possibly another alteration after that. That’s where the drama begins??! Hopefully not!

Leave a Reply

