The Decision

7 Nov

We chose the “family gym”!

Of course I didnt read the fine print on the flyer we received that said “$10/month…for the first 100 people”. And of course we weren’t the first 100…really?

Anywho, for the both of us we’ll be paying $39.98/month, which is almost as much as I paid for my own membership long, long ago.

We had huge home projects this weekend, and I have to say..SCREW YOU to everyone out in YouTube land who say these projects are soooOOOooo easy!! We found a great deal on eBay for some vinyl plank floors and were hype to get the floors down on Friday night, and get on with our weekend +1 hour. Boy, were we wrong! Don’t get me wrong, the floor looks great. But we planned to do the kitchen, and all three bathrooms…so far we’ve ALMOST finished the kitchen.

Well first you’ve got to make sure the planks are straight, then the “easy” part, the peel and stick. I swear I still have a piece of vinyl plank stuck somewhere I can’t say. That stuff gets everywhere!! Then the cuts, the dreadful cuts!! “Score with a utility knife, it’s like butter” they say. They’re wrong! Sure once we got into the swing of things, we got a little rhythm. But not at the pace we thought. First the floors, then the caulk, oh wait, but we need some quarter round to cover the parts that don’t go all the way to the wall-but white for the base boards, and some stained wood ones for the cabinets.

At one point we called up someone from Craigslist to come out and finish the job we couldn’t bear to finish. He quoted us more than we paid for the floors, so we figured we’d might as well press on, at our own pace! So even though we’re not where we would like to be, the floors are coming along nice and they’ll get done right!

Kind of like this weight loss thing. I would’ve imagined I would have lost 10 lbs by now. But I haven’t! I realize things can’t be rushed and in order to do it right, I have to take my time and go at my own pace. Like my floors, once the weight is gone, I’ll have invested tons of care and attention to those little details that’ll last years to come…

2 Responses to “The Decision”

  1. thegracefulskinny November 12, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    That is so true! Just remember, slow and steady wins the race.

  2. Public Fat November 17, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    I’m hoping so! Except for slow and steady needs to follow the pace of my wedding schedule! 🙂

Leave a Reply

