Gaining Momentum

17 Oct

Today is a monumental day for a few reasons. I actually removed my own hair from the shower drain after I washed it, and I said some words to my fiance that he has probably not heard come from my mouth in a while.

“Wanna go to the gym?”

So we went. And a good time was had by all.

I’m slowly getting to the point where I’m ready to set some concrete goals, and begin to post photos of my progress, but I’m a little hesitant to start based on two things:

  • I can’t commit: We’re in the process of buying a house, and until things settle on that front, I’ll start to post stats and photos when I can commit to a consistent schedule – which should be soon since we close on Friday!
  • I don’t feel the love: I started this journey publicly so I could have the support of other bloggers and hopefully some brides-to-be who have similar goals, but so far..I’m just not feeling it.

So I ask today, if you’re stopping by, and you’re a bride-to-be, (or not even), what are some of the things you’ve done to motivate yourself and stay consistent to meet your weight loss goal? I also want to hear of some fun little stories anyone wants to share about their wedding planning process. Like, so far, my adult only reception plans are still on track, even after a long phone convo with the future mom-in-law. I’m so proud we stuck to our guns and are keeping it an adult only reception despite some protests from each side of our families. (I found it funny the one who barked the loudest was an aunt who spent her entire reception yelling at all the kids for touching her decorations).

Have a great week public and show me some love while you’re at it! 🙂

2 Responses to “Gaining Momentum”

  1. Skye Frank October 17, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    I used EFT daily to keep me motivated on my goals. If you are not familiar with it here http://skyefrank.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/what-is-emotional-freedom-technique-eft/

    Here is a script to help you along, how’s that for love!
    ISSUE: Getting Fit Naturally

    Say Setup Phrase while tapping on karate chop point:

    Setup Phrases:

    Even though I don’t always eat as well as I’d like to, I deeply and completely accept myself.

    Even though I don’t get as much physical activity as I need for my optimal health, I deeply and completely love and accept myself.

    Even though I don’t live the healthy lifestyle I’d like to for my optimal well-being, I am open to finding a way to do this naturally, and I deeply and completely love and accept myself.

    Negative Reminder Phrases:

    Eyebrow: I eat too much junk food
    Side of Eye: I eat things that aren’t good for me
    Under Eye: I eat portions that are too large
    Under Nose: I don’t like exercising regularly
    Chin: I don’t want to exercise, and I just don’t have the time
    Collarbone: I’m just not living the healthy lifestyle I’d like to live
    Under Arm: I’d rather eat high-calorie food, and lots of it
    Top of Head: It’s too much of an effort to eat healthy and exercise regularly

    Take a deep breath and let it out

    Positive Phrases

    Eyebrow: Maybe my body really craves healthy food and exercise
    Side of Eye: I just haven’t been listening to it
    Under Eye: I’m opening up to finding a physical activity that suits me
    Under Nose: Opening up to craving good, healthy foods naturally
    Chin: I can do this
    Collarbone: My body WANTS to be in a balanced, healthy state
    Under Arm: And get down to as well as maintain my ideal weight
    Top of Head: I can do this very naturally

    Eyebrow: I embrace a strong, fit and healthy body today
    Side of Eye: I enjoy foods that nourish my body and eat just the right amounts to maintain my optimal health
    Under Eye: I exercise daily and find different ways of fitting exercise into my life
    Under Nose: I am a vibrational match for my perfect weight of ___
    Chin: I love and honor my body by listening to it and attuning myself to its needs
    Collarbone: I am lean, flexible and agile. I feel great!
    Under Arm: My body is strong and healthy and I radiate Energy and Joy
    Top of Head: My mind and body perform optimally at all times

    Eyebrow: My body easily assimilates the nutrition in food and eliminates what it doesn’t need
    Side of Eye: I bless and thank the food for nourishing my body
    Under Eye: I appreciate myself for preparing healthy meals
    Under Nose: I appreciate my body for eating healthy foods
    Chin: I thank my body for assimilating all the nutrients
    Collarbone: I thank my body for easily eliminating what it does not need
    Under Arm: I appreciate my body for working so efficiently
    Top of Head: My mind and body perform optimally at all times

  2. Public Fat October 17, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Hi Skye! That’s some awesome advice. I’ve never heard of EFT, but I’ll definitely take a look at it. I have found that daily affirmations are helpful in day-to-day stuff, but never really applied to my weight loss goals, yet. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

